A big THANK YOU to all particiants for their numerous and inspiring entries from all over the world!
Now it´s time to cross fingers, as all submissions will now be reviewed in detail and then evaluated in the multi-stage jury process.
The finalists will be announced soon.

International Design Competition for Additive Manufacturing and Advanced Technologies

The 3D Pioneers Challenge is looking for the pioneers and innovators who are resiliently shaping a sustainable tomorrow. Pushing boundaries.

Announced for the eighth time as part of Rapid.Tech 3D , (Messe Erfurt, 9-11 May 2023).

Focus 2023

Advanced Technologies to enable a sustainable tomorrow.

Epic challenges surround us demanding social, ecological, economic and personal change. In those times it’s creative pioneers who take a conscious, deep breath to rethink the status quo. Driven by a mindset that reflects, settles, and sorts everything, they focus on holistic solutions for a better now and tomorrow. Let’s be pioneers. Be resilient.

We do need to converge and generate bridges focusing a sustainable transfer of that approach. Advanced technologies such as digital tools and additive manufacturing are key roles that enable transformation and innovation.

The 3DPC2023 invites pioneers of all generations with this mindset to use the platform. Present your concepts, projects or new business models to push the boundaries.

Verticals 2023

Find the detailed describtion: for download here


  • Prize money of EUR 35.000 kindly supported by the Thuringian Ministry of Economic Affairs Science and Digital Society .

  • 3DPC Trophy
    The main prize winner will be awarded the "3DPC Trophy". This limited edition design object, created especially for the 3DPC, was developed in 2020 as a project within "3DPC & Friends", in cooperation with the jury member Ross Lovegrove, the winner of "3DPC 2019 Digital" Hyperganic and partner Materialise .

  • Special Mention by Autodesk Technology Centers
    The Autodesk Technology Centers recognize excellence in the 3DPC by providing the opportunity to 3 winners to join the Autodesk Technology Centers Outsight Network - a global community of industry leaders, entrepreneurs, and researchers building future-focused technology in design, AEC, manufacturing, and more that is destined to change our world.
    Further information for download here and at Autodesk Technology Centers .

  • Special Mention "Best Start-Up"
    Coaching to scale to the next level
    AM Ventures supports 3DPC2023 awarding the „Best Start-Up“.
    The winner team can „Push their business to the next level“ and take advantage of a customized coaching for their company by experts from the AM Ventures team. Depending on the approach they will get input towards „Pitch Coaching“, “Business modell“ or „Scaling“.
    AM Ventures invites the winner to a workshop at the AM Venturesheadquarter in Starnberg near Munich, Germany
    Find out more about this prize.

  • 3D Printer
  • Makerbot sponsors the SKETCH Large 3D printer.
  • Asiga awards the MAX UV 3D printer and
  • Ultimaker gives the newly launched S7

  • Digital tools
  • 3YOURMIND awards a "3 month software package" of their on-demand manufacturing software to the "Best industrial project".
    Find out more about this prize.

  • nTopology gives two "nTop full versions "

  • Books
    avedition, the publishers for Architecture and Design hands out books for the winners.

The prizes and specials are selected with the partners of the 3DPC & Friends network to support participants in taking the best advantages for their projects.

Special Feature 2023

3D Pioneers Challenge and nTopology are partnering again to give 3DPC participants free access to nTopology. After the successful premiere of this “Special feature” in 2021, 3DPC and nTopology were happy to provide this again to the submitters so that they could benefit to bring their entries to the next level.
nTopology winner of the "3DPC 2020 Digital", supports as part of the 3DPC & Friends network. Participants had the opportunity to obtain a license for the nTop platform as well as additional training materials for designing and producing a submission with this "next generation design & engineering software".

Detailed information see here the nTop blog about the 3DPC cooperation.


The competition is aimed at those who shape the future working in design or technical fields, as well as the automotive, software engineering, research and medical sectors - who are breaking new ground with advanced technologies, considering the entire value chain of additive manufacturing processes and feeling the important trends.
Previously published to novel projects may be submitted as well as entries that have been created in group work.


Formalities 3DPC 2023

For download: Formalities in English or Regularien in German

Jury 2023

Frank Beckmann

Deputy Head of Institute and Head of Department Virtualization, AM Systems of Fraunhofer

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christiane Beyer

Dean of 'Product Development and Design' at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg

Dr. Shajay Bhooshan

B.Arch, M.Arch, M.Phil - Associate Director
Zaha Hadid Architects

Stefanie Brickwede

Managing director project 3D printing/ Head of AM
DB Fahrzeuginstandhaltung GmbH ; Managing director Mobility goes Additive e.V - mga

Bas de Jong

Chief Operations Officer at

Lutz Dietzold

Chief Executive Officer
German Design Council

Stephan Galozy

Senior Vice President Product at 3YOURMIND

Sarah Goehrke

Founder Additive Integrity

Pia Harlaß

Head of Marketing Communications,
Brand & Experience at DyeMansion

Arno Held

Managing Partner AM Ventures

Dr. Karsten Heuser

Vice President Additive Manufacturing, Siemens Digital Industries

Prof. Thomas Hundt

CEO jangled nerves

Dr Cordelius Ilgmann

Head of department at Thuringian Ministry of Economics, Science and Digital Society

Gil Lavi

Founder & CEO of 3D Alliances

Carina Lebsack

Head of Corporate Sustainability & Circularity
at Adolf Würth GmbH & Co. KG

Marie-Lucie Linde

Sustainability expert and founding member of the cooperative sustainable natives and Managing Partner at nextblooming gmbh

Ulf Lindhe

Additive Manufacturing Business Innovator -

Ross Lovegrove

Lovegrove Studio

Dr. Cora Lüders-Theuerkauf

Network Manager Medical goes Additive e.V / Mobility goes Additive e.V.

Prof. Shlomo Magdassi

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem _ Science, technology and applications of nanomaterials

Alana Mongkhounsavath

Research Development Manager with Autodesk Research
Autodesk Technology Centers

Kristin Mulherin

Founder & President, AM-Cubed // President, Women in 3D Printing

Joris Peels

Vice President Consulting at SmarTech Analysis and Executive Editor at

Sonja Rasch

Sales Director and BD serial production/aerospace at
Materialise GmbH

Peter Rogers

Director – APAC Business Development, Tokyo- Japan, Velo3D,

Virginia San Fratello

Partner at Rael San Fratello and Emerging Objects ,
Chair of the Department of Design at San Jose State University

Dr.-Ing. Sascha Schwarz

Managing Director
TUM Venture Lab Additive Manufacturing

Dr. Dirk Simon


Matthew Spremulli

Research Manager with Autodesk Research Autodesk Technology Centers

Joachim Stumpp


Andreas Velten

IFA3D Medical Solutions GmbH

Christoph Völcker

"Innovation Lab - AM" at
Würth Elektronik eiSos GmbH & Co. KG